Personal Injury and Negligence Claims
If you or a loved one have been injured due to the negligence of another, you may have the right to seek compensation for your injuries from the at-fault party. If the at-fault party has insurance coverage, this likely means that you will have to deal with an insurance company in order to get paid. Often times, insurance companies employ tactics designed to minimize, or even prevent, your recovery. Insurance companies also know that without a lawyer, most injury victims are unlikely to bring legal action.
At Kuhn Raslavich, we have experience dealing with insurance companies and can help you navigate the claims process. If you are ultimately denied fair compensation, we can bring a lawsuit on your behalf. Whether you have been injured in an auto accident, at a business, on the job, or during a medical procedure, we have the experience and resources necessary to help you obtain the compensation you deserve. Contact Kuhn Raslavich today for a free, no obligation consultation.
The Law You Need To Know
Florida’s “No-Fault” Insurance Law or Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) Statute
In Florida, $10,000 in Person Injury Protection or “PIP” coverage must be purchased by all owners of motor vehicle registered in the state. In order to be entitled to benefits under PIP, auto accident victims must seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident and only from specified licensed medical professionals. Acceptable treatment providers include a medical doctor, osteopathic physician, dentist, physicians assistant, or advanced registered nurse practitioner. Unless a determination is made that the injured person has suffered an emergency medical condition, PIP benefits are limited to $2,500. This determination must be made by a physician, dentist, physicians assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner. If you have questions about Florida’s PIP law, call Kuhn Raslavich today.
Pre-Suit Requirements in Certain Negligence Actions
Under Florida law, certain negligence actions are subject to laws that require the injured party to notify the potential defendant(s) and take steps to attempt to resolve their personal injury claim before a lawsuit can be filed. For example, in negligence cases brought against nursing homes, assisted living facilities, or hospitals and doctors, the injured party must give the potential defendant advance notice of their claim and an opportunity to investigate and respond to the allegations. The parties may also be required to attend a mediation to attempt to resolve the dispute before a lawsuit can be filed. If you believe that you or a loved one has been injured due to the negligence of a nursing home, assisted living facility, hospital or doctor, we can help you identify any pre-suit requirements that may apply to your claim, and help you to develop a comprehensive litigation strategy designed to maximize your recovery.